Surtex 2014 pt. 2- Around NYC

Once I thought about it, I realized I’d be in NYC for SIX DAYS for Surtex. Six days! Honestly I knew I wasn’t going to have any time to do all that I’d want to but we squeezed in some of our favorites.

But first I must add that I met so many fellow exhibitors and it was a pleasure. If I didn’t get to stop by and say hi, I’m sorry! Everyone’s booths were fabulous and I thought I’d take more pictures with people, but really I was without my phone most of the show.

I did make a serious effort to take my camera over to this lovely lady’s booth.

Image

Sarah Watson is awesome you guys. You don’t even know. I met Sarah about 5 years ago when I was an intern for Carter’s in Atlanta. She was the first person I was assigned to and she took me under her wing and showed me the ropes for pattern design. I haven’t physically seen her since I left the company in 2010 but we reconnected when we both realized we were exhibiting at Surtex. We’ve skyped and typed out all our hopes and fears, supporting each other till tear-down. I’m thankful I had her around! Go check her out, she’s all that and a bag of chips.

Also I must add in a HUGE thank you to two very special people! Although one doesn’t like to be photographed, Paul and Andrea Turk, owners of Cinnamon Joe Studio, provided us with so much advice during the show.

Image

Their booth was in a prominent location and they always do great business! Cinnamon Joe Studio represents my younger style of art and I couldn’t be happier to have them!

Back to food times.

The night we had to gather the cookies and FLOR tiles we ate at one of our “musts”, Ma Peche

ImageMa Peche is one of the restaurants part of the Momofuku empire and we are big fans. Also there’s a Milk Bar attached to the front, making it easy to pick up the cookies and eat here. We lucked out and were seated at the bar at 5:30.

ImageThey changed the menu to a dim sum-style service which we give 15 thumbs up. We tried so many delicious-as-always treats. Rice cooked in duck fat, lamb ribs and our all-time favorite Momofuku item- the pork bun.

ImageOh it got better. This rolled next me.

Image

Yes. A cart FULL of Milk Bar’s offerings. The birthday cake, the candy bar pie, the crack pie… cookies…. truffles.. All of it. If you follow me on Instagram, you know I’ve attempted a few of the Milk Bar recipes with more or less success. I had the candy bar pie and Ben had the crack pie, naturally.

I’ll spare the rest of the food pictures but we also ate a really good (and cheap!) pizza place off 48th and 8th called Patzeria. Of course we had one meal at Shake Shack! Mmmmm that chocolate shake!

One of my favorite stores happens to have many locations in Manhattan, so I make a point to visit at least one Anthropologie 🙂  I had to capture some pretty things, I used my phone so they are not great photos.

Image

Mmm these bowls!

Image

Always super fun displays.

Image

I know it’s blurry, but I love the patterns ❤

Image

Fun table runner.

Image

Free People had some great displays. Love the color dipped lanterns!

Image

Look at that! How fun!

Ok I lied, there’s two more food pics. Another must-go on my list is Le Pain Quotidien. I just love it here. I know it’s a chain but it’s soooo gooooood. The coffee was the best I’ve had in a long time. Maybe because we ate here the day after the show ended, but man, it was a fine cup of coffee. It came in that cute little pot with a perfect amount of cream!

Image

And this waffle. Super good. Super filling!

ImageAnd that was the other stuff we did while in NYC! I wanted to walk the High Line but it just didn’t happen. Maybe next time!

One thought on “Surtex 2014 pt. 2- Around NYC

Leave a Reply

